When Motivation Hinders Achievement


I have set a list of goals for this summer. I have tons of “free” time to spend getting it done. However, recently my motivation has been very little. It doesn’t help that I have gotten addicted to started watching Veronica Mars. It’s a fantastic show, but I think I need to make better use of my time. Another “hinderance” to getting anything done is my husband’s new work schedule. He’s working 12 hour shifts – some days and some nights. Those days that he works nights I have to be quiet and cannot do things that would be loud because he has to sleep during the day. Last night Kevin had a rough time learning how to sleep without his daddy home. He was shaking and constantly looking around him. I guess that makes two of us struggling with this new schedule. I know it will all work out in the end but this first week has been rough.

So that leaves me to today. Today I have decided to write out everything I need to do (to complete my goals). Then I have divided it up into the months that I have for this summer – June, July, August. I hope this will help channel my focus and help me to be able to accomplish everything I need to get done.

Oh, on a side note I plan on posting some of my school ideas and other’s ideas and how I implement them in the classroom soon here.

Leave a comment