What is my gift?


My administrator at our school brought in a man who spoke to us on our gifts. God has given each one of us gifts and we need to be using them to our fullest potential. The man was discussing how if we are not enjoying our jobs or doing what we love to do then we need to reconsider what we are doing with our lives. After the man’s seminar, my administrator gave us the assignment of taking two surveys from two different websites to see what they said our gifts were and what were the pros and cons of each survey. So, I took the surveys and the results were eye-opening… kinda. Well, here are the results:

Survey 1:

  • Pros: Very easy to take, results were fairly accurate
  • Cons: Not very many spiritual questions but the results were very spiritual in application, only got main spiritual gift result
  • Result: My gift is Knowledge.
  • My thoughts: Very interesting. I love learning so it doesn’t surprise me. I could be one of those nerds who is in school all my life if I could. 🙂

Knowledge

Knowledge – The special gift whereby the Spirit enables certain Christians to understand in an exceptional way the great truths of God’s Word and to make them relevant to specific situations in the church. Also, the desire to seek out and learn as much about the Bible as possible through gathering much information and the analysis of that data. The divine enablement to bring truth to the body through a revelation or Biblical insight.

People with this gift:

  • receive truth which enables them to better serve the body
  • search the scriptures for insight, understanding, and truth
  • gain knowledge which at times was not attained by natural means
  • have an unusual insight or understanding that serves the church
  • organize information for teaching and practical use.

1 Corinthians 12:7-11
2 Chronicles 1:7-12
Colossians 2:2-3
2 Corinthians 11:6
Daniel 2:20-21
Proverbs 2:6
Proverbs 9:10
Psalms 119:66
Jeremiah 3:15

Survey 2:

  • Pros: Very easy to take, liked the fact I got to see more than just my main spiritual gift, liked being able to see the ones I was definitely not.
  • Cons: The complete opposite of the other survey – overkill on the Spiritual side. Every question had to do with the church. What about my life outside of the church?
  • Result: My spiritual gift is Administrator.
  • My thoughts: Surprising really. I like to lead people, but I don’t see myself as a commanding presence. It says, “The administrator functions by planning, organizing, leading and supervising.” I love the planning and organizing part. Maybe that’s why it said “administrator.”
Gift Measure of Spiritual Gift Score
administrator
79
helper
76
mercy shower
73
exhorter
69
shepherd
60
prophet
58
teacher
55
evangelist
43
giver
42

Your two highest gifts (gift mix)
ADMINISTRATOR: That special ability to manage human, financial, and physical resources in an efficient manner. The administrator functions by planning, organizing, leading and supervising (Rom. 12:8; I Cor. 12:28; Titus 1:5).
HELPER: That special ability to do service-oriented work for God in necessary tasks that may seem routine and mundane. The helper usually enjoys serving without public attention, doing such tasks as preparing a meeting room or working on a church building (I Cor. 12:28; Rom. 12:7, 16:1,2 NKJV: I Pet. 4:10,11).

What does your profile mean?
1. The higher your score in an area (i.e., score 75 to 100), the more gifted you are in that gift.
2. Remember that lay people tend to have lower scores than full-time workers.
3. Don’t be discouraged by a low score and don’t give up your attempt to use that gift. You can grow in any ability or spiritual gift.
4. Watch for two or three highest gifts. Compare these strengths (called your “gift mix”) to see how they work together. As an illustration, strength as a shepherd (group leader) and strength as a teacher, means you will lead a group by teaching.
5. Concentrate on our strengths in serving Christ, not your weaknesses. Total Christian service will strengthen weak gifts, but don’t focus all your energies on them.

Leave a Reply

