When Trouble Comes


Revival is this week with Evangelist Steve Pettit and his team. Tonight he preached a sermon on “When Trouble Comes” from 2 Corinthians 1:3-7.
____________________________________________________________________________________________

“3) Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, 4) who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. 5) For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too. 6) If we are afflicted, it is for your comfort and salvation; and if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which you experience when you patiently endure the same sufferings that we suffer. 7) Our hope for you is unshaken, for we know that as you share in our sufferings, you will also share in our comfort.” – 2 Cor. 1:3-7

Trouble has come to your house to be a blessing.
I. The Trouble that Comes

2 Corinthians 14:7-10: “So to keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited. Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

-Grace says “I can’t; God can.”
A. Infirmities – physical
B. Reproaches – verbal attacks
C. Necessities – financial
D. Persecutions – spiritual opposition
E. Distresses – Stressful Situations

II. The God that Brings Comfort
-God comes alongside you and gives you encouragement and comfort.
A. Personal
B. Complete (in all tribulations)
C. Abundant
D. Effective (to enable you to endure)
– Hope: confidence in God

James 1:2-4: “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”

III. The Ministry God gives
– It is His will that we pray. It is only in the Lord that we find our sustaining strength.

2 Corinthians 13:4: “For he was crucified in weakness, but lives by the power of God. For we also are weak in him, but in dealing with you we will live with him by the power of God.”

-You cannot make life work without God.
-Don’t go through troubles without seeing God in them.

I will post the audio once it comes online, but here is a link to thesermon.

Leave a comment